St. Peter and St. Paul Wymering is one of the oldest churches in Portsmouth, dating from about 1125. In 1861, thanks to the generosity of the Nugee family, its patrons and prominent supporters of the Anglo-catholic movement, the church was the subject of a major restoration, employing the renowned architect, George Street. The result is a little gem; the building is steeped in centuries of prayer and is very much the spiritual heart of Wymering. The Parish extends from the foot of the Portsdown Hill to Port Solent.
The Church has two churchyards, including 15 war graves. Jane Austen’s brother, Francis Austen, one of Nelson’s admirals, was Churchwarden of Wymering at the time of the restoration and he and his family are buried in the churchyard.